Does the Southern Ocean Border Africa?

The Southern Ocean borders Australia, Chile, and South Africa.

Which Ocean borders Africa?

The continent is bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, on the east by the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, and on the south by the mingling waters of the Atlantic and Indian oceans. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Does South Africa border the Southern Ocean?

South Africa has a coastline of some 3 000 km, Namibia 1 572 km and Mozambique 2 470km. This part of the African continent is located close to three Oceans, namely the South Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean and the Southern Ocean.

What countries border Southern Ocean?


Continent Country Polar Oceans
South America Chile Southern Ocean
South America Argentina Drake Passage
Australia/Oceania Australia Southern Ocean
Antarctica Southern Ocean

Which Ocean comes to the border of South Africa?

South Africa occupies the southern tip of Africa, its coastline stretching more than 2,850 kilometres (1,770 miles) from the desert border with Namibia on the Atlantic (western) coast southwards around the tip of Africa and then northeast to the border with Mozambique on the Indian Ocean.

THIS IS AMAZING:  Why is East Africa referred to as the cradle land of man?

What ocean is south of South Africa?

Located along the southernmost region of Africa, South Africa’s coastline stretches from the desert border on the Atlantic to the subtropical side of the Indian Ocean.

Is Africa surrounded by water?

Africa is surrounded by water. The Mediterranean Sea borders Africa on the north. It provides the continent with an important water route to Europe and western Asia.

What borders the Pacific Ocean?

The states of Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California, and Hawaii border the Pacific Ocean. The Pacific Ocean is on the West Coast of the United States.

What ocean is between Africa and Australia?

The Indian ocean basin has Eurasia as its northern boundary and Africa as its western boundary, and Indonesia and Australia as its eastern boundary.

Does South Africa border the Indian Ocean?

The Indian Ocean borders South Africa on the east; the Atlantic Ocean borders it on the west; and both the Indian and Atlantic Oceans border it on the south.

Which African countries border the Atlantic Ocean?

Morocco is located in the northwestern corner of the African continent. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the north, and Algeria to the east and southeast.

How many countries in Africa border an Ocean or sea?

Atlantic Ocean. 27 countries in Africa border the Atlantic Ocean: Algeria. Angola.

What touches the continent of Africa?

The two oceans that touch Africa are the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian Ocean. The Atlantic is located off of Africa’s west coast, and the Indian off…

THIS IS AMAZING:  Who was Africa's most famous explorer?

Where is the Southern Ocean?

Southern Ocean, also called Antarctic Ocean, body of salt water covering approximately one-sixteenth of Earth’s total ocean area. The Southern Ocean is made up of the portions of the world ocean south of the Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian oceans and their tributary seas surrounding Antarctica below 60° S.

How many borders does Africa have?


Show national borders Hide national borders Show all
Area 30,370,000 km2 (11,730,000 sq mi) (2nd)
Demonym African
Countries 54+2*+5** (*disputed) (**territories)
Dependencies show External (5) show Internal (7+1 disputed)

Does Chile border the Atlantic Ocean?

Chile is situated in southern South America, bordering the South Pacific Ocean and a small part of the South Atlantic Ocean. Chile’s territorial shape is among the world’s most unusual.

Geography of Chile.

Continent South America
• Total 756,102 km2 (291,933 sq mi)
• Land 98.4%
• Water 1.6%
Coastline 6,435 km (3,999 mi)